| || |
Read that Rule Sheet
August 18, 2010 - Steve Anderson
What a tragedy the PGA Championship was last week with Dustin Johnson getting a 2-shot penalty for grounding his club in a 'bunker'. As you know, you cannot touch the sand with your club during your address position, it's considered 'testing' the sand.
While I don't agree that this was a bunker, it sure didn't look like one with the gallery walking in it, tire tracks, etc. it WAS on the rule sheet. I've played in many tournaments and before teeing off we all receive a handout of the daily and local rules. It makes no difference it the player 'didn't know' a rule's a rule and it clearly stated that all area of sand througout the entire course were to be classified as a 'hazard'. I wouldn't have known or thought it was a bunker either so I feel bad for DJ. It makes me wonder how many dozens of times that other players did the same thing all during the week with no one seeing that. Hopefully never but I bet it did.
Remember too next time you're in a bunker. You can remove any man made object like a soda can, paper cup, etc. but if your ball's resting against a branch or rock you may not remove that and must play the ball as is. Any natural object cannot be moved even if it interferes with your shot. Not sure I agree totally with that one either but that's the rule.
No comments posted for this article.
Post a Comment